Joseph Haydn

Ludwig Van Beethoven

Piano Trio No. 7 in B flat major opus 97

Trio at the Archiduc


Ludwig van Beethoven's Piano Trio No. 7 in B flat major, Op. 97, is a trio for piano, violin and cello in four movements composed in 1811 and published in 1816 with a dedication to Archduke Rudolf of Austria, hence its common name of Archduke Trio.

The Archduke Trio is the most famous of Beethoven's trios. It was composed two years after the Trio No. 6, Op. 70, and at the same time as the Seventh Symphony. It was written in less than a month, in March 1811. Its premiere on April 11, 1814, with Schuppanzigh on violin and Linke on cello, was one of Beethoven's last public appearances as a performer (at the piano), when his deafness was almost total.



Simon DENIS, (1755 - 1813), View of the Heights of Naples (1811), Oil on canvas, 55 x 77 cm, Paris